Our Team

The Productivity Insights Network core team comprise a number of leading academics and professionals engaged in productivity research from different perspectives. The aim of the Productivity Insights Network is to stimulate new interdisciplinary directions in productivity research and foster engagement with business, intermediaries and policymaking communities.


Co-Director Professor Philip McCann (Sheffield) Co-Director Professor Tim Vorley (Sheffield)


WP Leads Professor Colin Mason (Glasgow) Education & Skills Lead Dr Maria Abreu (Cambridge)
Richard Lewney (Cambridge Econometrics) Work & Employment Lead Professor Kirsty Newsome (Sheffield)
Professor Andrew Henley (Cardiff) Investment Lead Professor Richard Harris (Durham)
Johnathan Cook (SQW) Infrastructure Lead Professor Iain Docherty (Stirling)
Ben Gardiner (Cambridge Econometrics) Innovation & Enterprise Lead Professor Robert Huggins (Cardiff)
Data Director Professor Vania Sena (Essex) Governance Lead Professor Gary Dymski (Leeds)
Health & Wellbeing and Early Career Researchers Lead Professor Leaza McSorley (Sunderland)


Download our Co-Investigator bios.

Management & Support Staff

NW Manager Kate Penney (Sheffield) KE/Comms Officer Phil Wallace (Sheffield)
Project Officer Kat Sloan (Sheffield)

For more information about the team or the work of the Productivity Insights Network you can contact us here.

International Advisory Board

The Productivity Insights Network has a highly experienced and active international Advisory Board chaired by Lord Jim O’Neill providing oversight to the work of the core team and the wider project, as well as ensuring its wider relevance to business, practitioner and policymaking communities.

Board Members

Lord Jim O’Neill (Chair) Dr Ekkehard Ernst, Chief Macroeconomic Policy Unit, International Labour Organisation, Geneva Andrew Paterson, Deputy Director, Local Growth Analysis, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
Jim Bell, Director, ARUP Professor Henri de Groot, King’s Appointee, Netherlands Socio-Economic Council and Free University of Amsterdam Jen Rae, Head of Innovation Policy, Nesta
Dr Vicki Belt Deputy-Director, Enterprise Research Centre, Warwick Professor Arthur Grimes, Former Chairman and Chief Economist, Reserve Bank of New Zealand Professor Tony Venables CBE, Professor of International Economics, Oxford University
Professor Sarah Brown, Professor of Economics, University of Sheffield, and Independent Member of the Low Pay Commission Professor Jonathan Haskel CBE, Professor of Economics, Imperial College Business School and Member of the Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee Dr Philip Wales, Head of Productivity Research, UK Office for National Statistics
Johanna Cowan, HM Treasury Dan Hodges, Head of Economics and Evidence, Innovate UK Andrew Williams, Former Partner KPMG and member of the Advisory Board of Sheffield University Management School
Tony Danker, Be the Business Professor Robert Inklaar, University of Groningen, Manager of the Penn World Tables Professor James Wilsdon, former PI of Nexus+
Dr Douglas Dawson, Chief Executive Office, Liberty Industries Group Dr Joaquim Oliveira-Martins, Special Adviser and Head of Regional Economics, OECD, Paris Professor Sir Alan Wilson FRS FBA, CEO of the Turing Institute and former VC University of Leeds

For more information about the International Advisory Board or the work of the Productivity Insights Network you can contact us here.